April 17, 2011

Girl Scouts of the North East Texas : Girl Scout Ceremony


On April 16, 2011 I went to the Union Station in Downtown Dallas to attend the Girl Scout Annual Meeting Ceremony Luncheon.  The event lasted from 9:30 a.m-1:30 p.m. with the key note speakers, Chair Of The Board Valerie Freeman - Founder/CEO of Imprimis Group & Bravo Technical Freeman., Director & Co-Founder of ANSTREAM LLC., Board Member of North Dallas Chamber of Commercewho is now the new 2011-2013 Chair Board Member, and Girl Scout Of North Texas - CEO Colleen Walker, Former Board Chair who has retired her governance position in April 2011 which she has served since 1996. Then board officer in 2000 and named first Board Chair of Girl Scouts of Northeast Texas in 2007 -Lynne Mabry, Barabara Van Riper, Sharon King, Rani Garcia, Secetary Earl Simpkins,  who walked us through every single accomplishment that the Girl Scouts of America have done over the years and showed us how important it is too be a Girl Scout, and that your never to old too be one. They covered about the different types of camps that will be there and won't be there anymore along with covering how much money they raised for the camps. These key speakers announced who was nominated to be a National Council Delegate. Juliette - Appiah Montgomery is now a National Council Delegate for Texas out of 15 adults and Appiah is one of the only 2 girls selected to represent our cause. Also recognized at the annual meeting was Richardson Texas Service Unit 164's Cookie Coordinator Rich Harmswhich has been an important role keeping up annual cookie sales for many years. Most of all, everyone there was truly honored to be there and learn more about Girl Scouts than what I thought I knew. According to the Girl Scouts of North Texas, 2010 was a year of transformation for Girl Scouts of North Texas (GSNETX). Girl Scouts has an amazing legacy of 99 years old advancing millions of girls and women into the nation's leadership pipeline. it is with this proud perspective, and the need to be relevant for today's girls, that GSNETX undertook a strategic effort. With the 100th anniversary on the horizon, GSNETX set out to create a high performing, high capacity council to serve girls brilliantly in the second century of Girl Scouting. To be exact, nearly 2.5 million Girl Scouts and 50 million Girl Scout Alumnae nationwide are anticipating the 100th Anniversary of Girl Scouts on March 2012.

New Slate 2011-2013

Board Of Directors
Valerie Freeman-Chair of the Board

C.J. Vogel-First Vice Chair

Board Of Directors

Kit Addleman
Susan Adzick
Gina Betts
Jenny Birge
Bea Bourne
Bill E. Carter
Brenda Cubbage
Rani Garcia
Sharon King
kay Maxwell
David Millheiser
Maria Thereza Neisler
Catherine Pena
Bonita McClain Vinson
Kacy Whitehead
Cathy Witt

National Council Delegates

Kit Addleman
Jennifer Bartkowski
Barrett Cole
Kelly Cole
Lani Connolly, PhD.
Elizabeth Cotner
Deborah Enda
Valerie Freeman
Bryna Garrison
Gerri Gordon 
Alice Hogue
Jennifer Kelley
Appiah Montgomery
Sara Jo Mueller
Tanya Plumb
Debbie Roling
Rosalind Rosenthal
Connie Sens
Julia Skiles
Colleen Walker

National Council Alternates

Emily Allbright
Millie Bradley
Jennifer Clubb
Monica Contreras
Dee Francis
Kimilee Gould
Joy Hart-Hunter
Gwyneth Lloyd 
David Millheiser
Pat Sherwood
Earl Simpkins
Rebecca Vallo
Georgia Weddle

Add caption


Post a Comment